top of page

Vegan Larder Review – Deluxe May box

First of all – happy 1st birthday to Vegan Larder! Now in their second year of trading, they were first created by vegan foodies Vanessa & Louise-Claire who teamed up to create delicious, kind and sustainable foods and then the ultimate vegan subscription box was formed. Vegan Larder aims to make veganism easy and fun by supplying a range of vegan items so people can try lots of different flavours and get creative with vegan products. Vanessa and Louise-Claire search for the yummiest vegan food out there and then share these with the world – I was lucky enough to try this month’s deluxe birthday box, and it did not disappoint!



I love how everything in the box comes from independent and ethical businesses. They are 100 % palm oil free ,100 % vegan AND free from artificial ingredients. It’s a really nice touch that each box comes with a sheet with some information on where each product has come from – I have included some of this info below!


I loved how there was items to cook with and to snack on. I can imagine for someone who isn’t a vegan, the selection would be very exciting and would make plant based healthy and easy. For someone who is a vegan, it will introduce you to brands you may not normally come across! In 2019 Vegan Larder were listed as the Best Vegan Subscription Box by The Independent! I have to be honest and say this is the first vegan subscription box I have tried but they set the standard very high! I am very impressed and will definitely be getting another one!


This box’s snacking items:


- Elements for Life Yummy Scrummy Raw Chocolate Brownie. Made from the finest Criollo Raw Cacao, rich in vitamins like magnesium. They work with small farmers and have high ecological standards. My partner actually managed to eat this before I got to enjoy it, although the bite I had tasted like it was freshly made - tasty!


- Eat Vive Hazelnut Bars. This London based business produce all these bars themselves which are simple and healthy, but tasty! I took this with me when I was out the house travelling, it was the perfect sugar boost and was surprisingly filling for its size!



- Two delicious Organic Clearspring Snacks (and a cheeky extra Matcha sample!) This family business believe in sustainable farming, healthy eating and pioneering authentic Japanese products. Im yet to try the matcha shot but its such a cute idea, I love how its measured out to get the perfect drink and I cant wait to use it – think I will take it when I go away for the weekend. The packs of soya nuts and goji berry mix were delicious, I used the soya nuts (not tried before and thought were really nice and crunchy) on top of pasta! And the goji berry mix on top of a chocolate pudding!... Didn’t last long in my house!


- Boundless Activated Nuts and Seeds. These nuts and seeds are activated using ancient Aztec and Aborigine methods. I liked the flavouring so much that I contacted the company and got some more… now I have a huge bag! Thanks for introducing me to this brand!


- The Real Coconut Tortilla Chips was started by Daniella Hunter who dedicates her products and restaurants (currently in America) to digestive well being and sustainable living. These are unlike any crisp I’ve had before, they were smooth to touch with a lovely subtle taste! Also the packaging is beautiful!



This box’s cooking items:


- Cotswold Gold Raspberry and Wholegrain Mustard Drizzle. This family business grow, press and bottle their own rapeseed in the Cotswold using traditional cold pressing methods. AMAZING! In love with this product! I have had it for about 5 days and its nearly all gone! Innovative and delicious flavour!


- Cheeky Food Silly Sesame Sprinkles. Made by Swati, who grew up in India around a large family who celebrated food. I sprinkled this on a minestrone soup and it was spectacular, I think it will go well with so many things… salad, veggies, anything! A real versatile product!


- Chili Chop Co African Joloff Sauce. Elizabeth runs this small business who produce delicious African sauces and chutneys. This sauce was thick and better than anything I could have made by myself, I used it in a simple pasta dish. It had just the right amount of kick!



- Nature Kitchen Fajita Spice Mix. Ally makes all her own spice blends from savoury to sweet, which are the perfect kitchen staple. I used this to flavour some chickpeas before roasting them, its really unique and I want to try the other mixes Natures Kitchen offers.


To celebrate their birthday Vegan Larder are offering these exclusive discounts:

FIRSTSUB10- £10 off their first subscription box

FIRSTGIFT5- £5 off any gift box (includes Gourmet Chocolate Box)


You use the vegan larder blog www.theveganlarder.com to get recipe inspiration for the items in the box or visit their Instagram @vegan_larder


Happy birthday Vegan Larder! xxxx

bottom of page