top of page

Review of Blackfriars Flapjack range

I had so much fun trying all of the BlackFriars vegan flapjack range, the other flavours that aren't in this picture below (because I ate them!) are apple & raspberry and date & walnut. My favourite was Apricot! I also tried the Porridge oat bar range which were tasty which are flapjacks with a healthy twist! My fave was Seed Sensation.


About Blackfriars:


These flapjacks were baked with love in Leicestershire. The name comes from 'Fred the Friar'. Fred has been our iconic Friar since the early 90s, evolving his look and style as times have passed. BlackFriars have baked goods for everyone including gluten free and vegan goodies!


Oats provide:


  • - A good source of carbohydrates for energy

  • - Fibre which helps with digestion and prevents constipation woohoo!

  • - High in vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants

  • - Due to their many benefits, such as lowering blood sugar and cholesterol levels, oats have gained considerable attention as a health food



My review:


These flapjacks have a long shelf life and are perfect to have on your travels. Compared to similar products on the market they are a good size and satisfy my hunger every time! They were moist, which is a key point as there is nothing worse than a dry flapjack! The oat bar selection is innovative and delicious! They are crumbly and fall apart in your mouth, without leaving that greasy feel on your hands some other flapjack companies do! I particularly enjoy the pairing of flavours!


I thoroughly enjoyed the taste and selection of flavours BlackFriars offered, the only criticism I have is that they currently still use palm oil in these flapjacks which from an environmental stance is not great!


If you want to check out BlackFriars baked goods - much more than just flapjacks! Go to their website or visit their instagram!

bottom of page